Grading System

Traditional Grading/Scholarship Quality Points

The following traditional grade indices are used in descending order with "F" indicating academic failure. Letter grades carry weighted scholarship points per credit hour attempted as follows:

Letter Grade Points
A+ 4.00 points
A 4.00 points
A- 3.67 points
B+ 3.33 points
B 3.00 points
B- 2.67 points
C+ 2.33 points
C 2.00 points
C- 1.67 points
D+ 1.33 points
D 1.00 point
D- 0.67 point
F 0.00 points

Weighted scholarship points are not awarded for courses graded on the credit/no credit system. "W," awarded as a result of withdrawing from a course prior to completion, is not computed in the GPA. (Also see sections on withdrawal, change of schedule, grade average computation and repeated courses.)

Grade Point Average (GPA) Computation

Grade point averages are computed for each term and accumulated for the duration of attendance. Credit hours accepted in transfer from institutions outside the University of Nebraska, hours resulting from a competency-based assessment, courses taken out of career or taken prior to Fall 2010 as post-graduate hours, and credit hours earned at UNK under the credit/no credit grading system are excluded in grade average computations. Withdrawals from courses resulting in a "W" and incompletes "I" are disregarded in deriving grade point averages. All other letter grades are used in computing grade averages. Grades earned in courses taken at another campus of the University of Nebraska after July 1, 1991, will be used in calculating the student's cumulative University/UNK GPA.