Undergraduate degrees at UNK are offered through three undergraduate colleges: the College of Arts and Sciences, the College of Business and Technology, and the College of Education.

The faculty members of the Colleges generally determine and govern their programs, including special admission requirements and degree requirements.

The College of Arts and Sciences is the intellectual foundation of the University of Nebraska at Kearney, offering students a first-rate liberal arts education in the arts, humanities, natural and social sciences.

The other two Colleges--the College of Business and Technology and the College of Education--primarily offer professional degree programs. The College of Education has special admission requirements. The following are brief descriptions of the goals and missions of each of the Colleges.

College of Arts and Sciences

Paul Twigg, Dean

The College of Arts and Sciences participates fully in the traditional missions of teaching, research, and service. The curriculum provides students with an artistic, scientific and humanistic perspective which is necessary for an excellent liberal arts education. Students in the College are encouraged to develop habits of critical thinking, to value academic rigor, to appreciate the complexity and diversity of the human condition and the world around them, and to develop a base of knowledge that will allow them to be successful and responsible members of the community. The College's commitment to excellence in teaching is complemented by its commitment to scholarship. The College takes great pride in providing opportunities for students to participate in an undergraduate research experience as part of their education. Faculty and students in the College engage in research and other scholarly activities to generate knowledge, to learn and practice their chosen professions, to be current in their disciplines, and to create a stimulating learning environment. The overarching goal of the College is to provide students with the best and most challenging education possible.

The College of Arts and Sciences represents sixteen departments and three programs. These include the departments of Art and Design, BiologyChemistry, Communication, Criminal Justice, English, Geography, HistoryMathematics and Statistics, Modern Languages, Music, Theatre and Dance, Physics and Astronomy, Political SciencePsychologySocial WorkSociology, and programs in Health Sciences, International Studies and Philosophy.

College of Business and Technology

Timothy E. Jares, Dean

The College of Business and Technology provides value to Nebraska by preparing our diverse student body to compete in dynamic professional environments and by promoting academic, social, technological, and economic development. The faculty and staff achieve this mission by:

  • Providing student-centered educational opportunities including experiential learning;
  • Advancing knowledge through applied and pedagogical scholarship;
  • Providing service to our stakeholders.

The faculty and staff are dedicated to providing students with rich experiential learning opportunities, including internships, student research, and consulting on real-world projects. The College provides a dedicated Career Center and two internship directors to assist students in professional development and career planning. There are six departments in the College, including Accounting, Finance, and Economics, Cyber Systems, Industrial Technology, Management, and Marketing, Agribusiness, and Supply Chain Management. Four outreach centers provide support and service to stakeholders throughout the region, including the Center for Rural Research and Development, the Nebraska Business Development Center, the Center for Economic Education, and the Nebraska Safety Center. The College of Business and Technology also hosts UNK's Military Science Program.

College of Education

Mark. J. Reid, Dean

The College of Education provides programs to prepare educators as well as professionals in the speech pathology, community counseling, sports, fitness, recreation and tourism fields. Programs of study have been developed in consultation with advisory committees to meet state and national standards. The faculty is committed to providing quality instructional programs, serving schools and communities. Professional education programs leading to initial certification are designed to develop each student's knowledge, skills and dispositions related to specific endorsement areas. All programs within the College of Education are committed to preparing morally responsible professionals for a social and political democracy. Our Desired Outcomes for graduates focus on knowledge, skills and dispositions and a commitment to the infusion of technology, diversity and democratic principles.

UNK offers undergraduate programs for the preparation of early childhood, elementary, middle level, secondary, special education and K-12 teachers. Master's degree programs are offered in curriculum and instruction, special education, instructional technology, elementary and secondary administration, speech-language pathology, school counseling and reading. Specialist programs in school psychology and educational administration are also offered.

The College prepares professionals in sports management, recreation, exercise science, athletic training, and travel and tourism. A Master's degree program is offered in community counseling and in speech language pathology.

There are five departments in the College: Communication Disorders; Counseling, School Psychology & Family ScienceEducational Administration; Kinesiology and Sport Sciences; and Teacher Education. The Educator Certification Office, a student support center for educators, is also part of the College of Education.