Academic Calendar

For a more detailed calendar with dates and deadlines relating to registration and graduation, see the Academic Calendar from the Office of Student Records and Registration.

Fall Semester 2017

Date Event
August 21, Monday All classes begin
September 4, Monday Labor Day Break - No classes
September 5, Tuesday Classes reconvene
September 15, Friday Deadline to apply for December graduation
October 16-17, Monday-Tuesday Fall Break - No classes
October 18, Wednesday Classes reconvene
November 10, Friday Deadline for completion of comprehensive examinations for degree candidates
November 22-25, Wednesday-Saturday Thanksgiving Break - No classes
November 24, Friday Deadline for filing report of comprehensive exams
November 27, Monday Classes reconvene
December 1, Friday Deadline for filing report of committee on thesis examination and for filing thesis, field study, and scholarly study in Graduate Office
December 11-14, Monday-Thursday Final week
December 15, Friday Commencement

Spring Semester 2018

Date Event
January 8, Monday All classes begin
January 15, Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day - No classes
January 16, Tuesday Classes reconvene
February 1, Thursday Deadline to apply for May graduation
March 18-25, Sunday-Sunday Spring break - No classes
March 26, Monday Classes reconvene
March 30, Friday Deadline for completion of comprehensive examinations for degree candidates
April 13, Friday Deadline for filing report of comprehensive exams
April 20, Friday Deadline for filing report of committee on thesis examination and for filing thesis, field study, and scholarly study in Graduate Office
April 30-May 3, Monday-Thursday Final week
May 4, Friday Commencement

 Summer Session 2018

Date Event
May 7, Monday Classes begin
May 28, Monday Memorial Day - No classes
May 29, Tuesday Classes reconvene
June 15, Friday Deadline to apply for summer graduation
June 29, Friday Deadline for completion of comprehensive examinations for degree candidates
July 4, Wednesday Independence Day Break - No classes
July 5, Thursday Classes reconvene
July 13, Friday Deadline for filing report of comprehensive exams
July 20, Friday Deadline for filing report of committee on thesis examination and for filing thesis, field study, and scholarly study in Graduate Office
July 26, Thursday Term ends
July 27, Friday Commencement

Fall Semester 2018

Date Event
August 20, Monday All classes begin
September 3, Monday Labor Day Break - No classes
September 4, Tuesday Classes reconvene
September 15, Saturday Deadline to apply for December graduation
October 15-16, Monday-Tuesday Fall Break - No classes
October 17, Wednesday Classes reconvene
November 9, Friday Deadline for completion of comprehensive examinations for degree candidates
November 21-24, Wednesday-Saturday Thanksgiving Break - No classes
November 23, Friday Deadline for filing report of comprehensive exams
November 26, Monday Classes reconvene
November 30, Friday Deadline for filing report of committee on thesis examination and for filing thesis, field study, and scholarly study in Graduate Office
December 10-13, Monday-Thursday Final week
December 14, Friday Commencement

 Spring Semester 2019

Date Event
January 7, Monday All classes begin
January 21, Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Day - No classes
January 22, Tuesday Classes reconvene
February 1, Friday Deadline to apply for May graduation
March 17-24, Sunday-Sunday Spring break - No classes
March 25, Monday Classes reconvene
March 29, Friday Deadline for completion of comprehensive examinations for degree candidates
April 12, Friday Deadline for filing report of comprehensive exams
April 19, Friday Deadline for filing report of committee on thesis examination and for filing thesis, field study, and scholarly study in Graduate Office
April 29-May 2, Monday-Thursday Final week
May 3, Friday Commencement

Summer Session 2019

Date Event
May 6, Monday Classes begin
May 27, Monday Memorial Day - No classes
May 28, Tuesday Classes reconvene
June 15, Saturday Deadline to apply for summer graduation
June 28, Friday Deadline for completion of comprehensive examinations for degree candidates
July 4, Thursday Independence Day Break - No classes
July 5, Friday Classes reconvene
July 12, Friday Deadline for filing report of comprehensive exams
July 19, Friday Deadline for filing report of committee on thesis examination and for filing thesis, field study, and scholarly study in Graduate Office
July 26, Friday Term ends
July 26, Friday Commencement

Fall Semester 2019

Date Event
August 26, Monday All classes begin
September 2, Monday Labor Day Break - No classes
September 3, Tuesday Classes reconvene
September 14, Saturday Deadline to apply for December graduation
October 21-22, Monday-Tuesday Fall Break - No classes
October 23, Wednesday Classes reconvene
November 15, Friday Deadline for completion of comprehensive examinations for degree candidates
November 29, Friday Deadline for filing report of comprehensive exams
November 27-30, Wednesday-Saturday Thanksgiving Break - No classes
December 2, Monday Classes reconvene
December 6, Friday Deadline for filing report of committee on thesis examination and for filing thesis, field study, and scholarly study in Graduate Office
December 16-19, Monday-Thursday Final week
December 20, Friday Commencement